All about the letter P

The letter P has been part of the alphabet since its early days in ancient Rome. It is the 16th of 26 letters.

The P I love exPLODES from the lips with a satisfying POP.

Although many of you are no doubt big phans of the F sound that P can assume when married to an H, F-sounding P-words are not phine phor me and I’m restricting this book to popping P words.

Last month at a Toastmasters leadership training I heard a talk about ways to get new members. The speaker had five main points, all beginning with P so we would remember them. So much for mnemonics; all that stuck with me was her fifth word, Phun. It was supposed to be phunny but I thought it was stupid. Right then and there I decided no Ph/F words in my book of P.

While we’re at it, I’m not going to use P words that sound like S (pseudonyn and its friends) or T (pteradactyl and those creatures) or N (pneumonia and pneumatic). If you like them, start your own blog.

In the world of phonetics, P is an oral consonant, which means that in saying P, air is allowed to escape through the mouth. Technically it is a voiceless bilabial plosive. What does that mean?

  • Voiceless – produced without vibrations of the vocal cords (a phonation type).
  • Bilabial – articulated with both lips (place of articulation)
  • Plosive – produced by obstructing airflow in the vocal trac – a stop (manner of articulation).

Is this more than you ever wanted to know about the letter P?

One response to “All about the letter P

  1. Pingback: PHUCK!!! « 365 Words Beginning with P