Pain-Body

Last night I got a call from the person in my life who has the densest pain-body of anyone I know.

“Hi,” he said. “I’m feeling really really bad. In case you’re interested.”

“Uh, wow.” I said. “I’m sorry to hear that.”

“So bad I’m taking Klonapin.”

Then I heard the tell-tale sipping sound. “And are you drinking too?”

“Yeah,” he said, “and it’s working fairly well.”

And then he launched into the litany of his worries and woes. I KNOW he is having a particularly hard time right now, and my heart goes out to him, but I was flummoxed as to how to respond.

This despite having just read Chapter 5, “The Pain-Body,” in Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth and watched the segment on Oprah.com.

Tolle talks about just being Present when you’re with someone who is suffering – and how that may give the person enough of a glimpse of the Present moment that he can begin to separate from the pain-body.

But I am not there yet. I don’t want to hear the whole depressing story; I’ve heard it in excruciating detail over the years, with only the names and places changed. Tolle says that every time a person recites his sorry story (to himself or another) he only strengthens his pain-body, and I don’t want to be a part of that any more.

Tolle says (page 144):

The pain-body is a semi-autonomous energy-form that lives within most human beings, en entity made up of emotion. It has its own primitive intelligence, not unlike a cunning animal, and its intelligence is directed primarily at survival… it needs to feed … it thrives on negative thinking as well as drama in relationships. The pain-body is an addiction to unhappiness.

It’s a part of the thinking-ego-emotion cycle. This friend has an amazing mind which, when engaged in constructively, is a gift to the world. In recent years, however, his mind has been increasingly trapped in his pain-body.

I keep hoping that THIS crisis will precipitate an awareness breakthrough. That THIS time, he’ll find a way into and through his sad story, so he can see himself as the beautiful soul he really is.

Right now for my own mental health I need to keep my distance, but I will give him the Tolle book and point him to the webcasts. Maybe Tolle’s wisdom can crack a wedge in the pain-body.

One response to “Pain-Body

  1. Pingback: POP! goes the Pain-Body « 365 Words Beginning with P