Periwinkle Profusion

If P is my favorite letter, periwinkle is my favorite color. It’s the color I painted my kitchen, the color I look best in, and the color that is popping everywhere in my yard right now. You could say it was a profusion of periwinkle.

Periwinkle is a desaturated color in the blue/indigo/violet family. The name is derived from the lesser periwinkle or myrtle (Vinca minor) which bears flowers of the same color. (Don’t ask me how a flowering ground cover got named after a brown sea snail…). This enthusiastic ground cover has escaped my neighbor’s yard and is now ensconced in mine. It’s pretty in bloom, but in my area it’s considered a noxious weed – a good plant gone wild.

vinca minor

I prefer the grape hyacinth (muscari), hundreds of which march across my front yard like tiny upside-down grape clusters (and smelling like grapes if you have the nose for them – some can’t detect any fragrance). OK the photo seems overly blue for periwinkle, but periwinkle it is.

Grape hyacinth

More subtle, but no less thrilling, is the swath of anemone blanda (windflower) on my front hillside. They close up when the sun hides, but twinkle like blue stars in the Milky Way when it’s bright out. I especially love the way they cluster around my tulips.Anenome blanda and tulips

After a day like yesterday, spent indoors trying to restrain myself from dropkicking my computer out the window, it’s good to spend time with these ephemeral things of beauty.

Comments are closed.