Prolific Posting is good for you

prolific: adj. producing abundant works, results, or offspring

prolix: adj. wordy and tedious

Since I began this blog April 6 of this year, I have created 81 posts. Whether I’ve been prolific or prolix is up to you to decide. I’m having fun and (almost) don’t care what you think.

My purpose in having a blog was/is to practice, practice, practice the art of writing. For years I’d been saying that writing was a priority, but I wasn’t doing it, so mission accomplishing.

Am I saner as a result of such prolific posting? Probably not. But evidently some people are.

Last week Newsweek reported that some mental health experts believe that the confessional blog has therapeutic power, and are incorporating it into their treatment plans.

They say that blogs are a step up from plain old diaries, chiefly because of the built-in audience. We feel someone is listening. Someone who sympathizes. Because of the anonymity, “It’s high intimacy with low vulnerability.”

This blog is definitely a step up from diarying for me. My diary is where I whine or process material not fit for human consumption. In fact, the other day as part of my paring down process I opened a box of old journals and came darned close to tossing out the lot of them. Such drivel.

Why do you blog?

3 responses to “Prolific Posting is good for you

  1. K. Jayne Cockrill

    I prefer to post prolifically, but it’s not always possible. A lot of what I think stays in the brain and once censored, it is released to the blogosphere. I do like that it keeps my writing muscles in shape while I’m not writing or struggling to write longer pieces, and as I’ve said many times, I do enjoy the instant gratification of readers enjoying my stuff and commenting.

    KJ
    http://interminablewriter.wordpress.com

  2. I`am new girl on 365pwords.wordpress.com .Let’s gets acquainted!
    My name is Victoria.

  3. Welcome Victoria. Can’t get acquainted unless you tell us something about yourself too.