Pugnacious: Palin “pit bull with lipstick”; McCain just pugnacious

Pugnacious: adj.  Eager to fight; having a belligerant disposition.

McCain wanted an attack dog, and he found one in Sarah Palin. Last night she smiled her pretty lipstick smile while she lunged at Obama’s jugular.

Tonight John McCain took pugnacity and ran with it.  More proof that the GOP loves a good fight.  I should have done a word bubble on the words Fight and references to War because he talked about little else for most of the speech. Here are 26 instances of the word fight:

I’ve fought corruption, and it didn’t matter if the culprits were Democrats or Republicans. They violated their public trust, and they had to be held accountable.  I’ve fought the big spenders…I’ve fought the big spenders in both parties, who waste your money on things you neither need nor want, and the first big-spending pork-barrel earmark bill that comes across my desk, I will veto it. I will make them famous, and you will know their names. You will know their names.

[How about “Sarah Palin’s name? You know, the gal who’s your porky partner? Big earmarks for little Wasilla, the Bridge to Nowhere money she kept??]

…. I’ve fought to get million-dollar checks out of our elections. I’ve fought lobbyists who stole from Indian tribes. I’ve fought crooked deals in the Pentagon. I’ve fought tobacco companies and trial lawyers, drug companies and union bosses.

I’ve fought for the right strategy and more troops in Iraq when it wasn’t the popular thing to do.

And when the pundits said — when the pundits said my campaign was finished, I said I’d rather lose an election than see my country lose a war

I don’t mind a good fight. For reasons known only to God, I’ve had quite a few tough ones in my life. But I learned an important lesson along the way: In the end, it matters less that you can fight. What you fight for is the real test.

I fight for Americans. I fight for you. I fight for Bill and Sue Nebe who from Farmington Hills, Michigan, who lost their real estate investments in the bad housing market…. [not their home, their investments – plural.]  I fight for [a couple who lost their son due to the Iraq War he helped start] and I fights for [a couple who have health insurance problems the Republicans did nothing about. ]

I fight to restore the pride and principles of our party. We were elected to change Washington, and we let Washington change us.

[no shit sherlock: you’re the one who voted with Bush 90% of the time. It’s YOUR party that started a war, shredded the constitution, ruined the economy, made moral hypocrisy and corruption your party’s modus operandi, etc etc etc]

Loooonnnngg segment about the Vietnam war and being a POW. Did you know McCain was a prisoner of war?…

The grand finale:

I’m going to fight for my cause every day as your president. I’m going to fight to make sure every American has every reason to thank God, as I thank him, that I’m an American, a proud citizen of the greatest country on Earth. And with hard work — with hard word, strong faith, and a little courage, great things are always within our reach.

Fight with me. Fight with me.
Fight for what’s right for our country. Fight for the ideals and character of a free people.
Fight for our children’s future. Fight for justice and opportunity for all. Stand up to defend our country from its enemies. Stand up for each other, for beautiful, blessed, bountiful America.

Stand up, stand up, stand up, and fight.

Do we want a president whose first response is to put up his dukes?

Aren’t we ready for a change? For leaders who think things through, who will sit down and talk, who will use their heads and hearts rather than their fists and teeth.  America should Just Say No to Pugnacity.

Comments are closed.