Pantomiming pianist

Pantomime: n. acting that consists mostly of gestures, a dumb show.

My younger son turned 25 today. This is for him.

He is a fine pianist, with an abiding love of Beethoven’s piano music and a healthy irreverance for pomposity. Many years ago, after only six months of lessons and despite his mother’s trepidations, he tackled the full Fur Elise for his first recital.  He was understandably nervous, so to ease the tension before he began, he made a big fuss of loosening his imaginary cufflinks and flipping out his imaginary tails.

Remembering that hilarious moment, and that my son played both of these pieces in a competition, his former piano teacher had to pass this video along to me.

Although the mime, Rowan Atkinson AKA Mr. Bean, plays what seems to be one seamless piece, he’s actually put two together: the Allegro from the Sonata 8 in C Minor, “Pathétique,” and the 3rd movement from the Moonlight Sonata in C Sharp Minor.

Enjoy this welcome break from That Woman whose name I don’t even want to pronounce…

4 responses to “Pantomiming pianist

  1. How peculiar that we both chose Rowen Atkins to illustrate our posts today.

    Oh I particularly enjoy this sketch – and Beethoven, but not ordinarily at the same time. When I first saw this on British tv, I laughed so hard I almost passed out.

    I’ve met Rowan briefly – an extremely serious man for a comdeian.

    Isn’t it such a relief when you realise that your offspring are able to cope very well with difficult challenges?

  2. Great minds, and all that…

  3. Aw, shucks.

  4. Happy birthday dear one.