Paul Newman passes on: another fine Unitarian

Paul Newman lived in my home town of Westport, Connecticut. I’m told he was a member of the Unitarian church I grew up in, though I left the east coast so long ago I never encountered him there.   But I do remember going to see a play at the high school about 20 years ago when I was home visiting my parents. I was in the lobby during intermission and turned around to find myself eyeball to very blue eyeball with the man himself.  Whoa!

Newman and his wife, Joanne Woodward, were huge supporters of the drama department at Staples High School – my alma mater – they were among the wealthy Westporters who donated a buttload of money to help create a dynamite theatre department at the school.

The new high school theater is AMAZING. My class got a tour of it when we were back for a reunion in August.   A professional-grade theater plus a black-box theatre. At a public high school!

Westport loved Paul Newman. Many charitable organizations loved Paul Newman. The Democratic party loved Paul Newman. His wife, Joanne Woodward, certainly did – they were married for a long long time. My sympathy goes out to his wife and his kids.

10 responses to “Paul Newman passes on: another fine Unitarian

  1. you didn’t happen to go to Saugatuck Elementary, did you?

    found you researching
    http://www.PisforPresidentPalin.com/

    Thought you might appreciate it.

  2. Hey Jane – thanks for the fine link! I didn’t move to Westport till 8th grade – was in the last year at Bedford, then to Long Lots Jr High, then Staples (OLD Staples… like the last class to graduate from there.) Cannot believe how much Westport has changed since I was a kid – so much $$$$$!

  3. After seeing a few of his films I’ve always had a PASSION for Paul. He could make my heart flip. I envy you having gazed into those blues. Sigh!

  4. Belatedly I realize what a fortunate childhood I had in Westport. Seeing Paul’s baby blues at two feet was just the frosting on the cake.

  5. Pingback: El misterio de Paul Newman y los unitarios « Unitaris i Universalistes de Catalunya

  6. it’s hard not to admire Paul Newman for putting his money to work in such productive ways, such as his Newman’s Own line–high quality stuff and the proceeds go to good causes… very smart.

  7. Movie fan – I agree. Think of what all those movie millionaires could do with their extra cash besides living in mega-mansions, buying fancy cars, and generally self-indulging.

    Kudos to Brad Pitt, Leonard DiCaprio, George Clooney and others for breaking out of the mold.

  8. Paul Newman is a legend for his work in movies, and he’s a stud for all his work outside of movies

  9. Ah, now coffee fiend, how do YOU know about his studliness?? DO tell!

  10. Pingback: A Prompt to Perusers: proffer your comments, please… « 365 Words Beginning with P