Pootie pix: better than politics!

Pootie: n. an adorable animal, most often a cat or kitten, but sometimes a cute dog.

Pix: n: abbreviation for pictures

My son tells me I shouldn’t have taken on a new kitty – adopting on the rebound, so to speak – so soon after Fritz’s death a couple of weeks ago. But Fritz was always more his cat than mine, and most of the time Fritz was nobody’s cat at all. He allowed you to be his best buddy only at night, and only on his own terms.

So last Thursday I swung by the Humane Society, ostensibly to see if they’d like the remainder of my bag of Expensive Mature Cat Food. And, heheh, just to take a peek at what they had in stock.

I confess here to being a sucker for sleek slender black cats. My first cat was an SSBC. My daughter’s cat was an SSBC. They both were part Siamese. I’ve been a sucker for Siamese cats since Twerple, the BEST CAT EVER. For 17 years she blessed us with her dog-like trainability, loyalty, patience, and character. She even let my pre-schoolers dress her in doll clothes and wheel her in a baby carriage.  I don’t know what the breeders have done to the Siamese cat in recent years – turning them into sinister rabbit-eared collie-nosed anorexics.

Anyway, the Humane Society refused my bag of Expensive Food (it had been opened), but they did just so happen to have THREE CAGES of black kitties. Evidently folks around here are so superstitious that black cats are hard to place.

All the kitties were eager to go home with me, and reached out with their paws in hopes of snagging my undivided attention and my heart.

I chose the sleekest most elegant of them all, a small male with a calm friendly demeanor. Because he just turned 6 months old, he was “on sale” – $30 off, and because it was Thursday (?), he was $35 more off. So he cost $26.50 which included neutering, micro-chipping, his first shots, and a license. Such a deal!

He has been home with us since Friday noon and has already made total peace with my standard poodle Molly, explored the house from top to bottom, allowed my son to give him a bath and cut his nails without any fuss, turned over several wastebaskets seeking playthings, fallen in the toilet, and generally won us over. He’s a happy lap cat.

And what is his name??? Gobama!   “Bama” for short.

I still haven’t gotten a decent picture of him but I found one online that looks very much like him, though of course he’s more beautiful…  And of course his collar is blue, not red.


Comments are closed.