Pooped and plumb tuckered: how I got where I am today

Pooped: n. tired, worn out, wasted, an empty shell

I feel like I’ve been holding up the entire country for the past few years.

I first became hyperactively involved in Democratic politics after Kerry’s 2004 defeat. The Current Occupant’s re-election had thrown me into despair.  WHAT had become of my country? Were we THAT stupid? THAT blind? HOW could anyone, even someone with shit for brains, vote for that smirking frat-boy?

On Inauguration Day (January 20, 2005) I dressed in black and attended a wake for democracy at our downtown park. I hadn’t been to a demonstration in decades, but I need to be with other grievers.

At the wake I met a couple of women who, like me, had just read linguist George Lakoff’s seminal book, Don’t Think of an Elephant, about how the right-wing had mastered the metaphorical values language that underpinned the conservative argument (and demonized progressives).

Lakoff made it very clear how Democrats had been framed into a corner by the likes of Frank Luntz and Karl Rove. But he also offered a vision of how we should frame our own progressive values so they spoke more directly to the public’s heart than those wordy policy statements we so love.

The concepts were simple: conservatives hold Strong Father (authoritarian) values, and progressives hold values of the Nurturant Parent (mother?).  We worked hard, but it was much harder than we expected to articulate these new concepts in words that expressed our progressive values. So we put together a series of community workshops at the Unitarian church and we invited activists from all over town to come practice with us.

For six weeks, SEVENTY of us (in Vancouver!) struggled to master this new language. And when that was done, 25 of us formed a new Toastmasters club called Progressive Voices where we could practice speaking our values. Several of our members have since gone on to elected office! We helped a similar club form in PortlandThank you George Lakoff for getting us going.

Meanwhile I began following the plethora of Republican misdeeds and the rise of more progressive Democrats on the internet.  I became addicted to DailyKos, the blogchild (blogmonster?) of Markos Moulitsas and the hundreds (actually thousands) of brilliant and well-informed writers who post there. (The site got 3 million pageviews a day leading up to the election, and 9 million on election day!)

Markos is a hero to millions of us who follow progressive politics online. He should be a national hero – because he created the space for people like me to get together, learn about the issues, and put our shoulders to the wheel to actually get good Democrats elected. His first book, Crashing the Gate, and his new book, Taking on the System, laid out why our party was so stuck and what we could do about it. Howard Dean’s 50-state strategy was part of this.

Volunteers from DailyKos organized the first political bloggers convention, YearlyKos, in 2006 – which was attended by a thousand of us in Las Vegas – we participated in panel discussions and heard from Democratic luminaries like Barbara Boxer, Bill Richardson, Mark Warner, Howard Dean. In 2007 we met in Chicago and heard from all the Democratic presidential contenders and many state candidates and electeds as well. That’s when I decided for sure that Obama was The Man and Hillary was not The Woman. And I was charmed by Joe Biden.

Thank you, Markos, from the bottom of my heart.  Thank you Dr. Dean. Together, YES WE DID.

I’ve been a local Dem precinct officer since 2005, dutifully walking my neighborhood and handing out literature. I don’t really love this part, but I do it. (It’s much better when you do it with a partner.)

And now we’ve won – President Obama, Gov. Gregoire, many locals. On the one hand I’m thrilled. On the other I feel like an empty shell right now. I paw listlessly at the papers on my desk, hop from website to website, and wonder how I’ll fill the hours I spent each day holding up the entire US political system with the power of my mind. I know there are thousands of other in my wasted condition*.

I’ve already taken long naps. Maybe I’ll start by walking the dog.  I could rake some leaves.

New project: Training my new kitty, Gobama, to use the toilet instead of a litter box? Tune in tomorrow.

* Update: The Onion is on it! Hilarious! Obsessive Obama supporters see how empty their lives have become.


Comments are closed.