Poem of Thanksgiving: “Gift” by Czeslaw Milosz

I’m clearing paper off my desk and found this poem which has floated around on one or another desktop for years. It’s time to share this lovely thought, even if it’s not exactly a summer day outside. Like Milosz, I feel so grateful to be alive.

Gift by Czeslaw Milosz

A day so happy.
Fog lifted early, I worked in the garden.
Hummingbirds were stopping over honeysuckle flowers.
There was no thing on earth I wanted to possess.
I knew no one worth envying him.
Whatever evil I had suffered, I forgot.
To think that once I was the same man did not embarrass me.
In my body I felt no pain.
When straightening up, I saw the blue sea and sails.

6 responses to “Poem of Thanksgiving: “Gift” by Czeslaw Milosz

  1. Lovely. Thank you.
    I feel that way often when working in my yard: be it summer or winter.

  2. “The happiest of people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the most of everything that comes along their way.”
    Anonymous

  3. I have to remember to share more of the quotations and poems I’ve got stashed away…
    Why hoard inspiring thoughts?

  4. Ernest C. Raskauskas, Sr.

    This poem was so meaningful to me that my daughter and I searched for the home where Milosz lived in Berkeley in order to experience the vantage point from which he observed the blue sea and the sails. He was a nature lover from his early life experience in Lithuania. He is one of my heroes, and one of the great literary intellects of the 20th century.

  5. Thanks for your comment Mr. Raskauskas. It almost Thanksgiving again; I need to post this on my Facebook page.