Preview of a new day… rosy Obama dawn

Preview: n. to see beforehand; to view or to show in advance of public presentation

newdawnOn the west coast, Tuesday’s inauguration festivities started three hours earlier than they did in DC. I left my house at 7 a.m., bearing a bottle of chilled champagne and my camera for the chilly dawn-hour walk to my best friend’s house to watch the happy events.

I brought the champagne for obvious reasons, but I brought the camera because I just knew the dawn had to be spectacular in honor of the occasion, and it was.

To paraphrase Lewis Carroll:  O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!’ She chortled in her joy!

Update, just in: We reaffirm our standing in the world as a country that does have moral principles! Obama just signed an executive order that will shut down Guantanamo:

By the authority vested in me as President by the Constitution and the laws of the United States of America, in order to effect the appropriate disposition of individuals currently detained by the Department of Defense at Guantanamo and promptly to close the detention facility at Guantanamo consistent with the national security and foreign policy interests of the United States, in the interest of justice, I hereby order … Guantanamo will be closed no later than one year from now.

2 responses to “Preview of a new day… rosy Obama dawn

  1. Obama is smart on so many levels for ordering the closure of Guantanamo. It has been a long time coming

  2. Yes yes yes. We can hold up our heads again in the world.