Prescription for the sneezles?

Prescription: n. a written direction for a therapeutic or corrective agent.

This P-word post should be devoted to a learned discourse on:

a) the ludicrous pricing of prescription drugs

b) the overuse of prescription drugs by the American public

c) the all-too cozy relationship between physicians and the drug companies for whom they are doing research

d) Medicare’s prescription drug plan (drug companies’ wet dream) OR

e) Any number of other issues for which a prescription is desperately needed, but no…

This post is about needing a prescription for the common drippy cold, which has kept me close to the kleenex box for several days. I could have used this particular device:

toilette-paper-nose-blowing-hat-thumb

I am not very sick, but as I type this, it’s clear I’m also not very sharp. Thank goodness for the backspace and delete keys – almost every other word on this page has been mis-typed at least once.

Last night a friend and I put on a gourmet dinner for ten as a benefit for a local charity. This will be the fifth or sixth one we’ve done in the past three years – they always auction off for a good price and we have fun cooking together. I would have cancelled, but it had taken a couple of months to find a date that was agreeable to all ten people (and the cooks).

So yesterday my friend had to do all the prep for anything that would be served uncooked, all the table setting and serving, and whatever else could have been infected by me. Between blowing my nose and washing my hands, I only worked with foods on which any viruses would be destroyed by high heat.

I guess we’ll find out in a couple of days if this strategy prevented the spread of my dastardly drip.

It may take me a day or two to get back up to speed… thanks for noticing my silence.

4 responses to “Prescription for the sneezles?

  1. Once you’re already sick, you probably won’t want to run out for the ingredients; but a blend of equal parts dried peppermint, chamomile, and lemon grass with a bit of dried ginger root makes a really nice tea for when you’re sick; or any time you need a non-caffeine warming brew.
    Hope you’re over the drip soon :’)

  2. I assumed you were busy – everyone is entitled to make the most of a sick day – I don’t think the head-gear will catch on somehow. Hope your soon feeling better.

  3. This was the oddest cold. Last Thursday I had a tickly cough for a few hours – then it left. Friday I had a tight feeling around my throat for a couple of hours – then it left. Saturday afternoon the nasal faucet opened and continued to flow till Sunday night. I swigged some Nyquil, slept like a boulder, and woke up clear Monday morning. Back in the game. Thanks for the kind thoughts – they were probably what cured me so fast.

  4. Pingback: Paper and pooties don’t mix « 365 Words Beginning with P