Paper and pooties don’t mix

Paper: n. a felted sheet of (usually) vegetable fibers laid down on a fine screen from a water suspension

Pootie: n. slang name for cute pets, cats especially

In this case, the paper is of the soft fluffy variety used to wipe your butt, or when tissue is unavailable, a runny nose.

There’s a lot to say about toilet paper – and recently the New York Times did a long article about how environmentally UNfriendly the toilet paper most Americans use is – and to suggest that recycled toilet paper is the way to go.

But I’m speaking only peripherally about sustainability – the sustainability of using soft fluffy rolls of paper in my house at all.

It’s about my cat, Bama.

First he discovered paper towels and chewed his way through a couple of rolls before I hid it in the kitchen cupboard and put out extra cloth towels. Thwarted, he moved into the bathroom.

I was almost asleep a few nights ago when I heard a strange sound coming from the direction of the bathroom, which I can’t begin to describe, but since I knew I was the only one at home it was very alarming.

This is what I saw when I opened the door:

"Oh, hi!"

"Oh, hi!"

"Excuse me, I've got an itch... are you upset or something?"

"Excuse me, I've got an itch... are you upset or something?"

I left the room to replace my camera battery and caught this…

“Not quite as exciting as a mousie, but I’ll pretend…” "Not quite as exciting as a mousie, but I'll pretend..."
"My precious..."

"My precious..."

There are all sorts of videos on YouTube of this phenomenon (search for “cats and toilet paper”) but the one I’d like to direct Bama’s attention to is this one, where the cat has learned to poop in the toilet first. Having just changed yet another stinky litterbox I’m all for toilet training. All I need is time and PATIENCE…

5 responses to “Paper and pooties don’t mix

  1. In my first apartment, the bathroom was at the end of a long hallway. My cat learned how to grab an end of the paper and drag an un-torn stream of paper through the hall and into the living room. I had to be very careful to leave the bathroom door shut whenever I left the house. (He wouldn’t do it at night, just when left alone.) My next cat preferred Bama’s modus operandi, and could shred an entire roll in minutes.

  2. I’m wondering how long before he tires of this “toy”… It’s a real drag to have to keep the TP in the bathroom cupboard – and not remember till you’re already needing it.

  3. For some reason the video is showing up blank. Oh well. Also look up “Toilet training cats”

  4. This post
    http://www.diylife.com/2008/03/05/stop-your-cats-from-unrolling-the-toilet-paper/
    says to try putting a large rubber band across the roll, from holder to holder.
    Worth a try (and all you have to do is take the band off instead of remembering to pull the roll out of the cupboard).

  5. Thanks for the suggestion… I may try it, but meanwhile I’m keeping the bathroom door shut. (Duh!) The dog will have to learn to drink from her water dish!