La Primavera in Posy Portraits

Primavera: n. the Italian word for the season of Spring. In French it’s le printemps.

Posy: n. flower

Picture: n. a pictorial or graphic representation

Peppercress (pesky edible weed) and Daffodils

Peppercress (pesky edible weed) and Daffodils

My birthday is March 21, which I consider the first day of spring, although this year the equinox actually falls on the 20th. No matter.

When I was a child growing up in New England, I always hoped it would snow for my birthday, because in late March the ground was usually an ugly mixture of mud and dirty clumps of old dehydrated snow.

Now, in the verdant Pacific Northwest, plants are actually beginning to bloom, even if the rain persists. These are some of the P-posies I found in my yard today:

Pussy willow

Pussy willow

Primroses in the rain

Primroses in the rain

Peony sprouts

Peony sprouts

Pieris japonica

Pieris japonica

Patterns in moss

Patterns in moss

Plant Pest invading my asparagus bed.

Plant Pest invading my asparagus bed.

I don’t know what this last plant is… it’s invasive. It grows from tiny bulblets deep in the soil which are attached to the plant by a threadlike root which instantly breaks if you try to dig or pull the plant.  And Roundup doesn’t faze it either.  This is a problem I need to solve! Any ideas?

9 responses to “La Primavera in Posy Portraits

  1. thanks for the lovely pictures. my field guide to North American weeds failed to identify the little yellow weed. hope you find out what it is and how to contain it!

  2. We Aries have to stick together.
    Happy Birthday!
    Kids and I will celebrate my 85th on the 29th because it’s Sunday and they can all ber here. But I won’t pass the mark until 9:25 PM on the 30th.
    Somedays I feel older than dirt. Other’s I’m pleased to still be growing older. I’m not sure I’m a sage, but I’m wiser today than I was yesterday.
    Be well. Carpe Diem!
    Mary

  3. Satchel Paige once said, “You’re only as old as you feel…” .

    Right now I’m 42 with a crick in my left ankle. In yoga yesterday (before I got the crick) I was 37. When I woke up (too early) this morning I was 7. Go figure.

  4. Hope you had a lovely birthday Joy, sorry I’m late and love the pictures. Spring is my favourite time of year in the garden.

  5. I found out what the pesky weed is… it’s called the lesser celandine. An invasive weed that has in the last couple of years started turning up in lots of places around here. Like swine flu.

  6. And is there a cure for it? Other than digging up the entire yard and sifting it through a screen to remove all the bulblets?

  7. atleast you didn’t have to wait as long as Wordsworth:
    (from wikipedia)

    The poet William Wordsworth was very fond of the flower and it inspired him to write three poems including the following from his ode to the celandine:

    I have seen thee, high and low,
    Thirty years or more, and yet
    T’was a face I did not know.

    Upon Wordsworth’s death it was proposed that a celandine be carved on his memorial plaque inside the church of Saint Oswald at Grasmere, but unfortunately the Greater celandine
    Chelidonium majus was mistakenly used.

  8. Wordsworth can keep his damn celandine.

    And no, there’s no easy cure. It drinks Roundup and then burps happily.

  9. you can try applying round up in the fall when the plant is about to go dorment and is retaining most of its energy back into the bulb.