Proverbs of Satchel Paige

Satchel Paige (1906-1982): a great baseball pitcher and aphorist. (I’m a Paige too, but don’t believe we’re related..)

Proverbs: n. A short pithy saying in frequent and widespread use that expresses a basic truth or practical precept.

Satchel Paige once said:

“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?”

A couple of days ago I was walking the dog in the spring air and felt like I  was 43. Paige also said:

“Age is a question of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it don’t matter.”

Today is my birthday and though I feel 43 from the knees up, from my left ankle down I feel 100 and I mind.

Some time between Thursday’s walk and Friday morning I tweaked my ankle. I haven’t a clue when, where, or how — but for the past two days it feels just like I sprained it – stiff, slightly swollen, and ouchy.

Despite the pain, yesterday morning I took a couple of ibuprofen and went walking with my best friend.  My ankle didn’t bother me much because we were engrossed in talking. But today it’s no better and when I looked up treatment of sprained ankle in my health book it said to give it RICE.

Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation. None of which I’ve done.

GRRR. I’d expected to go to yoga, take Molly on a walk, mow the lawn for the first time since fall.  I wanted my birthday to be a celebration of my vibrant health. Instead I’m experiencing its frailty.

Other sayings of Satchel worth thinking about today:

“You win a few, you lose a few. Some get rained out. But you got to dress for all of them.”

“Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.”

“Don’t pray when it rains if you don’t pray when the sun shines.”

“Work like you don’t need the money. Love like you’ve never been hurt. Dance like nobody’s watching.”

One response to “Proverbs of Satchel Paige

  1. Daniel Levey

    He was a great man.